Mary Ciccarelli2

The MPPDA Leadership in Med-Peds Award was established in 2015 to recognize a physician who has made significant contribution to Medicine-Pediatrics (Med-Peds) as a profession.  The award is presented each spring at the MPPDA Meeting.

Nomination Criteria

In selecting a recipient, predominant attention is given to a candidate who is outstanding in their clinical field, a national leader in med-peds, and has made a significant contribution to the education of med-peds residents, promoted student interest in training in med-peds, supported faculty development of med-peds, and supported the development and betterment of med-peds as a discipline.  The candidate is not required to be a current member of MPPDA.

Nomination Information 

Nominations must be submitted online.

Self-nominations are accepted for this award.

A nomination packet must include:

  • A completed nomination form.
  • One nomination letter.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The recipient is selected by the MPPDA Executive Committee.  All nominations will be considered for the year they are nominated as well as the following two years.

Award Recipients

2015 Our inaugural Leadership in Med-Peds Award was presented to Mary Ciccarelli, former Med-Peds Program Director at Indiana University.

2016 John Frohna, MD

2017 Brad Benson, MD

2018 Suzanne K. Woods, MD, FAAP, FACP


For more information regarding the MPPDA Leadership in Med-Peds Award, please contact AAIM Member Services at (703) 341-4540 or